Last week’s quiz was a bit of a challenge for me. I’ve used many of these tools but didn’t know the official names. Fortunately, there are some wonderful articles in The Paper Conservator describing the use of Japanese tools in conservation. Andrew Thompson’s article titled “Japanese Brushes for Conservation” in Volume 9 of The Paper Conservator was particularly helpful.

Here is the photo again with the answers. You will notice that I’ve changed my mind about one of the brushes.

A. Gong Brush – Nobody in the lab has ever used this, but I have one at home that does a bang-up job on the shower.

B. Noribake – Paste brush used to apply paste to large areas. It can also be used to apply dye to both paper and silk.

C. Mizubake – Water brush used to introduce moisture into paper or silk.

D. Noribon – Paste bowl. I’ve included a photo below that should give an idea how it is used.

E. Oops. My internet research last week told me that this was a Nazebake, but further research makes me believe it is just a smaller Mizubake. Does anyone out there have an opinion?

F. Tsukemawashi – Assembly brush used to join materials to backings. It is a thinner paste brush than the Noribake and can be use to apply thin lines of paste.

G. Koshi – Sieve used to strain paste.

H. Nadebake – Smoothing brush used to brush down pasted lining papers. It can also be used in a gently tapping motion.

I. Hake – Exceptionally soft brushes that have found many uses in conservation studios, especially dusting and applying thin medias. This was the only brush I could use to apply sizing to an incredibly fragile piece of paper during my studies.

K. Scroll-Mounting Smoothing Brush – The original use of this one is self-explanatory. We use them to tap down pasted tissue on the spines of books.

L. Squeegees – The tool we use the most often, because like most large sinks in conservation studios, our does not drain well.

The photo below shows me using a brush and paste bowl while doing my first lining at Camberwell. Looking back, I’m surprised I was so nervous lining such a small document, but then I read the notes from my technical log. The notes I took while the instructor was demonstrating the technique include things like “work with controlled urgency” and “tissue in stretcher will cockle dramatically.” And what you don’t see in the photo is that most of my classmates are behind me watching me do the first lining of the day.

