As the Thanksgiving holiday approaches, I like to think back through the year and reflect on what I am thankful for. I am thankful for a wonderful family, my good health, a roof over my head, and especially in times like these, I am thankful I have a job I love – one that helps me provide for my family. During rough economic times it is not always easy for businesses or institutions to provide as much as they would like for their patrons/customers and their employees.  It takes adequate funds to pay for staff, equipment, projects, etc. Here at Iowa State University Library, donors have made many things possible for us: new preservation equipment, study tables and chairs for the public areas of the Library, various special conservation treatments, renovations to the Special Collections Reading Room, and even funds for us to hire conservation interns for the summer.

In a previous post,  it was noted that the Preservation Department recently did some work on a study for the painting “Prairie Sky.” The study was sent out to have some reproductions made, and these reproductions were then brought to the Preservation Department to be matted as gifts for our donors thanking them for their generous contributions to the Library.

A couple of prints getting some weight after being hinged on to the mat.

Finished window mat and print.

As the self-proclaimed Matting Queen here in the lab, I got the joy of working on this project. I really do find it a joy, although I will say that knowing the Dean of the Library was going to see my work made me a little nervous.  Matting is something that I don’t get to do too often, so it is a nice change of pace when a project like this comes around. It is also satisfying to know that something I worked on will be presented to someone who has made a thoughtful gesture toward improving the Library.  This is just a small way we at the Library can say “thank you” to those making such meaningful contributions to the growth and success of the Library.

