A Friday afternoon wouldn’t be normal without something out of the norm happening right before closing time.  A couple of weeks ago, I got a frantic call from Special Collections informing me that they had an unusual critter stuck in one of their sticky traps.  As the resident “bug lady,” I grabbed a plastic bag, and our volunteer Martha grabbed some latex gloves.  Then we made our way over to see what lovely creature was paying our co-workers a visit.

Image

A bat! Not the typical small spider or lady beetle that I occasionally find in my sticky traps.

According to the Iowa State Extension website, Iowa bats are the size of a mouse or smaller and weigh about half an ounce.  Iowa bats feast on insects – they can eat up to 2000 mosquitoes on a warm summer night!  I can only guess that this fellow managed to get in and needed some chow to settle a rumbling tummy.

Image

Image

We are unsure how he made his way into Special Collections, but I have come to find out that he is not the first bat to find its way into the Library.  There have also been reports of the occasional bat in our loading dock area.  We all know that pests in libraries are not a good thing, but I will confess that he was kind of cute and a nice change from the usual bugs, although I hope his buddies keep their distance!

