Hilary, our Head of Preservation, recently came to me asking if I wanted a new CoLibri machine. I am sure I gave her a strange and questioning look, since not that long ago we purchased our current CoLibri Pocket Machine to replace an older, well-loved CoLibri machine. I was pleased with the way our current machine was working, so I was a bit perplexed as to why she would ask if I wanted a new one. Then she said it: FOOT PEDAL. I about fell out of my chair with excitement!

The new e-DaVinci CoLibri machine looks very similar to the previous model, but without the hand levers to press down the welding mechanism. It has the same, large, flat surface with the guidelines that I love, and it folds for easy storage if needed like the previous model.

CoLibri e-DaVinci

CoLibri e-DaVinci

However, the new LCD screen now shows icons to let you know when the machine has warmed up, how to insert the object to be covered, and when the machine is trimming.CoLibri LCD screen

The CoLibri wizards have now made it even easier to trim/weld by replacing the levers with a simple button near the LCD screen, and, as I mentioned, offering a foot pedal! I have tested out both methods and both work well. If you choose to use the button, there is a slight delay before the trim so you can reposition your hands on your object if you need to do so. And I am in love with the foot pedal – no need for me to let go of my object at all when I am trimming! Simply fabulous, I am in love.

CoLibri e-Davinci foot pedal

CoLibri e-Davinci foot pedal

I honestly enjoy the time I spend “CoLibri-ing” – I enjoy working through a stack of books that need covers, the sound the machine makes as it trims, and now the foot pedal. In my opinion this is a fabulous step forward for the CoLibri system!

