I’m writing this post at the end of the first week of classes. It is always a bit of a shock to the system when the students return in the fall. We go from a quiet summer school campus to being surrounded by students wherever we turn. It is even more surprising this year, as Iowa State is experiencing a record enrollment of over 32,000 students.

It has been particularly noticeable at my house the last couple of weeks, because my spouse has been busy welcoming the new international students to campus. As someone who is a bit more aware of the behind-the-scenes work that goes on throughout the year to prepare for the fall, I had to smile when the scrapbook from the 1928 Freshman Days landed on my bench at the beginning of the week.

cover

The scrapbook contains a record of all the letters, schedules and booklets used to welcome the freshmen to Iowa State College in 1928, a year when the total student population was 3,982.

Students received several small pamphlets when they arrived that covered university rules and procedures, academic policies and a schedule of Freshman Days. I thought this one with the Campanile on it was particularly lovely.

IMG_4514

I’m sure the people on campus who organize what is now called Destination Iowa State would love to require excused absences from activities, though perhaps they would find the paperwork a bit overwhelming.

IMG_4515

I laughed out loud when I discovered the original used to print the schedule of events.

IMG_4516

It might be hard to see in the photo what it is, but the tab on the page makes it clear.

IMG_4517

It seems that no matter the project, blueprints will always find me.

