My work with the scrapbooks at Special Collections started with a condition survey of the collection. The goal of the condition survey was to evaluate a representative sample of scrapbooks to get a general idea of the condition of the overall collection. I started the process by creating an inventory of all the scrapbooks. First I searched the available databases for scrapbooks. Then I looked through the boxes of collections that have not been indexed. I ended up with an inventory of over a thousand scrapbooks from which I randomly chose over one hundred to include in the survey.

I saw a lot of different kinds of scrapbooks during this process and felt like I had a pretty good idea of all the different types of scrapbooks in the collection. I was happily surprised the other day when I opened a box of theater scrapbooks and discovered a couple of examples of the Campus Pic and Clips scrapbook.

IMG_0162

The covers have photos from the Iowa State campus on them.

IMG_0157

According to the inner insert, the price of the scrapbook included a custom-printed spine label which you could send for.

IMG_0159

Sadly it does not look like the theater students ever placed the order.

IMG_0161

 

An internet search for the Hob-B-Bookcraft Campus Pics and Clips turns up very little information and no photos. I guess that this was not their most successful product line. I’m going to assume that the college bookstore or a local stationer stocked these back in the sixties and an enterprising theater student bought a couple.

Has anyone seen one of these scrapbooks specific to their university or college? Can you share a photo?

 

