Recently I worked on the book The New School Reader:  Embracing a Comprehensive System of Instruction in the Principles of Elocution by Charles W. Sanders, A.M.  Fourth Book 1860 and when I opened to the book I found lots of eight pointed tissue stars, feathers, and slips of papers.  Each time I work on a book that contains ephemera I like to “catalog” where I have found it in the book by recording the page number on the encapsulated piece.  The ephemera may have been put there randomly or it may have some significance to the page.  This particular book contained several pieces of tissue items, two feathers, and several pieces of papers with typed phrases on them.

IMG_0833 IMG_0834

 

Here in the Preservation Lab at Iowa State University we have two very important machines when it comes to encapsulating with Mylar.  First is the Ultrasonic Welder for Polyester Encapsulation Model OT-D4 by William Minter and secondly is the Polyweld B-20 Desk-Top Sealing Unit by Conservation Resources International.  Each can be used alone with encapsulating and then there are times I like to use both welders on a project.IMG_0836 IMG_0835

 

When using the two welders I work with the Minter Welder first to secure the items on a sheet of Mylar and leave space to identify the page number it was found on along with the call number and plate number in case it gets separated from the rest of the items and book.  Then when done I use the Polyweld to weld the outer edges so they are not as “sharp” to handle and it gives it a more finished look.  Next all of the plates are put into a folder along with the call number and note stating how many plates are housed in the folder.  In this case the book needed some minor tissue repair inside yet the rest of the book is in really good shape for 1860 so I constructed a phase box for all to be contained safely together.

 

 

