Anyone reading this have a “green thumb?” Good for you!   I will be the first to admit that I do not possess gardening skills in any way, shape or form.  However, I am becoming more skilled at the “weeding out” of unbound print issues located in both the Periodical Room and the General Collection.

Now, you may think weeding means discarding (and sometimes it does – more on this later) but for me, in this instance, this is an in-depth, thorough examination of the issues held in these locations on a semiannual basis. The items pulled are ones that are often ready to be bound midyear or have been previously missed or overlooked. Doing this sweep twice a year also alerts me to seek further investigation into periodicals which may be missing, not yet received, or possibly ceased publication. I of course do regular “trimming” of these unbound journal items on a daily basis by using my “weed eater” skills (ie. previously predicted frequency patterns for pulling serials to either be bound or discarded).

I would love to hear how often you do a sweep of your collection and any tips you have on keeping your collection nicely manicured.

img_1107

 

